

## City Council Committee <u>Meeting Notice</u>

CITY COUNCIL

City Hall, 215 SE 7th Street, Suite 255 Topeka, KS 66603-3914

Tel: (785) 368-3710 Fax: (785) 368-3958 www.topeka.org

**Committee:** Public Works Infrastructure: Special Committee

**Meeting Date:** December 21, 2020

**Time:** 2:00pm

Location: THIS MEETING WILL BE ENTIRELY VIRTUAL.

## Agenda:

1. Call to Order

- 2. Approve minutes from: October 27 & November 17, 2020 meetings
- 3. Pipe-replacement projects & overview of other utility projects
- 4. Update: Fleet Replacement Program
- 5. Action: Recommendation to adopt the change to the Governing Body Rules as reflected in the document attached to the agenda
- 6. Items from Staff Update: 50/50 Sidewalk Repair Program
- 7. Items from Committee
- 8. Draft Agenda for January meeting; set January meeting date
- 9. Adjourn

**STAFF REQUESTED**: City Manager Brent Trout; <u>Engineering Staff</u>: Brian Faust (Engineer), Jehan Zeb; <u>Public Works Staff</u>: Jaci Vogel (Deputy Director), Hannah Uhlrig (Deputy Director), Dan Hanover; <u>Planning Staff</u>: Bill Fiander (Director), Taylor Ricketts; <u>Utilities Staff</u>: Bob Sample (Director), Braxton Copley (Deputy Director); <u>Finance Staff</u>: Jessica Lamendola (Director), Stephen Wade, Rachelle Mathews; <u>Legal Staff</u>: Mary Feighny (Deputy City Attorney)

Members: Neil Dobler – District 7 (Chair)

Tony Emerson – District 4 Michael Padilla – District 5 Michael Lesser – District 9

Contact: Liz Toyne, City Council Assistant

785-368-3710

\*\*\*This will be a virtual meeting only via Zoom. Public comment for this meeting will be available via Zoom. Individuals must contact the City Council office at 785-368-3710 or email etoyne@topeka.org before 1:00pm on December 21st to receive the log-in information. The meeting will be live-streamed on the City of Topeka Facebook and City4 Communications platforms.

## 8. COMMITTEES

**8.1 Purpose:** The orderly and timely transactions of the city government shall be better served by having in place a committee framework whereby resolution of certain issues may be developed prior to consideration by the governing body. The committee framework shall include the use of standing committees and special committees.

## 8.2 Standing Committees:

- (a) The governing body shall have the following <u>five (5)</u> four (4) standing committees, each comprised of three (3) members of the council:
  - Policy and Finance.
  - Social Service Grants.
  - Public Health and Safety.
  - Transient Guest Tax.
  - Public Infrastructure Committee
- (b) Appointment. The deputy mayor shall appoint the members to each standing committee referenced in subsection (a) above and shall make a reasonable effort to stagger terms for the purpose of establishing familiarity and continuity from year to year. Appointments shall be made by the first meeting in February. Each councilmember shall fill out a committee preference list for a standing committee and the deputy mayor shall make every effort to appoint councilmembers to the committee of their choice.
- (c) Term. Councilmembers who are appointed to any standing committee referenced in subsection (a) above shall serve on their assigned committees for a one (1) year term. Councilmembers who wish to change committee assignments may do so with permission from the deputy mayor. Each standing committee shall elect the chair from among its members.